# discover DOWNSTATE ILLINOIS

**Board of Directors Meeting** Wednesday, April 26<sup>th</sup>, 2023. 10:30 pm

# Present:

BOND COUNTY: Bill Walker,	CLARK COUNTY:	CLAY COUNTY:
CLINTON COUNTY: Sandy Timmermann, Ann Schroeder	CRAWFORD COUNTY: Lisa Schaefer	CUMBERLAND COUNTY: Tania Craig, Billie Chambers
EDWARDS COUNTY: Dennis Turpin, Debra Fearn	FAYETTE COUNTY: Ricky Gottman, Doug Knebel	HAMILTON COUNTY: Beth Sandusky,
JASPER COUNTY: Jane Casey, Donna Coad	LAWRENCE COUNTY:	CiTY of Highland:
MARION COUNTY: Tabitha Meador, Ben Stratemeyer	MONROE COUNTY: Clyde Heller, Jim Hill	PERRY COUNTY: Carrie Gilliam, Judy Smid
RANDOLPH COUNTY: Emily Lyons, Ronnie White	RICHLAND COUNTY: Julia Eichhorst,	ST. CLAIR COUNTY: Cathleen Lindauer,
WABASH COUNTY: Jim Pfeister,	WASHINGTON COUNTY: Dan Bronke,	WAYNE COUNTY: Carrie Halbert, Daryl Hargrave
WHITE COUNTY: Cindy Conley,		

# Absent:

BOND COUNTY: Dennis Potthast,	CLARK COUNTY: Bailey Maulding(Tait) Nora Swalls	CLAY COUNTY: Doug Spitzner, Amy Allen
CLINTON COUNTY:	CRAWFORD COUNTY: Sara Mehler,	CUMBERLAND COUNTY:
EDWARDS COUNTY:	FAYETTE COUNTY:	HAMILTON COUNTY: Jerry Prince,
JASPER COUNTY:	LAWRENCE COUNTY: Paige Harvey, Tom Robinson	CITY of Highland: Mallord Hubbard
MARION COUNTY:	MONROE COUNTY:	PERRY COUNTY:
RANDOLPH COUNTY:	RICHLAND COUNTY: Debi phillips	ST. CLAIR COUNTY: John West
WABASH COUNTY: Brenda Bobbitt,	WASHINGTON COUNTY: Marvin Steinkamp,	WAYNE COUNTY:
WHITE COUNTY: Kelly Northcott		

### **Meeting Called to order:**

Ronnie White called the April meeting to order at 10:30, thanked everyone for attending. Ronnie commented, we have a lot of new faces so let's go around the table and introduce. Julia Eichhorst, Richland County. Bill Dixon big bad auditor. Ben Stratemeyer, Marion County. Clyde Heller, Monroe County. Carrie Gilliam, Perry County. Cathleen Lindauer, St Clair County. Dennis Turpin, Edwards County. Bill Walker, Bond County. Ricky Gottman, Fayette County. Carrie Halbert, Wayne County. Beth Sandusky, Hamilton County. Jane Casey, Jasper County. Donna Coad, Jasper County. Sandy Timmermann, Clinton County. Ann Schroeder, Clinton County. Tania Craig, Cumberland County. Billy Chambers, Cumberland County. On Zoom we have Daryl Hargrave, Wayne County. Dan Bronke, Washington County. Debbie Fearn, Edwards County. Jim Pfeister, Wabash County. Jim Hill, Monroe County. Cindy Conley, White County. Tabitha Meador, Marion County. Lisa Schaefer, Crawford County.

The meeting proceeded with Roll call we have a quorum (quorum is 21) we have 20 in person and 8 on zoom.

Ronnie and Darlene suggested for all the new board members (We have 11) and any of the rest of our board members. We could set up an orientation day. There was a lot of interest, so we will get this put together.

Next was the Audit presentation, Ronnie turned the meeting over to Bill Dixon the Auditor. Bill gave a summary of everything; these reports can be found on our website for review.

### The following will be reviewed on the Consent Agenda:

#### **January Board Meeting Minutes:**

Notes were posted 2 weeks prior to this meeting for review. Ronnie explained how our Consent agenda works, it makes up the approval of the board meeting minutes, the executive committee meetings and any other committee meetings (nominating committee, personnel committee, by laws committee, and finance committee). Any comments or discussion? There were none. Motion was made to approve the consent agenda by Sandy Timmermann and second by Ann Schroder. Roll call was taken.

### **Old Business:**

The Logo shirts are still being offered to all the board members, sign up sheet is available to let us know your size.

## **New Business:**

Nomination of officers: Ronnie turned this over to Clyde. In the early part of April an E mail went out to the board requesting any volunteers to fill the position of Deputy Treasurer. One volunteer has come forward, Ben Stratemeyer, his name will be placed in the elections for July to be voted on. All other positions will carry forward as the two-year terms are not completed. Everyone accepted the Nominating Committee as follows, Clyde Heller, Carrie Gilliam, and Ann Schroeder. Roll call was taken for vote.

<u>Closed Session President/Finance Director Evaluation</u>; Motion was made to go into Closed session by Dennis Turpin and seconded by Carrie Gilliam for personnel reasons. All in favor.

Back in open session motion made by Dennis Turpin , seconded by Ricky Gottman Roll call was taken.

### Expansion of Square Foot of office space:

We are outgrowing our space, and the bank is downsizing their space and going to a satellite branch. We will extend our space into the bank, and this will make our boardroom three times the size it is now. An additional 1,100 sq ft. The bank will extend our contract for an additional 7 years and they will update with new floor covering and painting to our existing office. Our rent will go from \$4,415 to \$7,713. Motion was made by Ricky and seconded by Carrie to go forward with the expansion, Ronnie asked for any discussion on this, hearing none roll call was taken for the vote. Expansion confirmed.

<u>Time for future Board Meetings</u> Discussion of the time of future meetings was confirmed to be 1:00 pm going forward.

<u>OMA Training</u> All new Board members, and a few existing will need to complete OMA training. Elaine will send out E-mails to those that need to complete this training. With the necessary instructions.

<u>Team Reports</u> were available for review and now a presentation by Christine Orr. In regard to the Tourism Times, 60% of our print version is being discarded do we want to continue printing? Or go to the Web version. We have cut back the production amount and now 2 editions versus 3. Discussion was had and motion made by Cathleen and second by Sandy to continue printing and just keep moving in the digital direction. All in favor.

**Meeting was adjourned.** Everyone proceeded to the Food Truck Event.

Next Board Meeting: Wednesday, July 26, 2023, Noon for lunch. Meeting to start at 1:00pm.

Elaine Byrd, Recording Secretary